Terry, The Clash, Marx, anarchy, etc etc

Clash clash clash. ¡VIVAN LOS NORTEAMERICANOS DEL IMCT Y LAS BRIGADAS DEL CADILLAC NUEVO!
Clashy
Corner Soul

Terry, The Clash, Marx, anarchy, etc etc

Post by Clashy »

matedog wrote: First off, I'd give my left nut to see Terry Clash in 82. I'd die to see them open for the Who or play that awful Cleveland show that we have the great soundboard of. But, I do find that Terry's playing often lessens the overall listening experience for me. I'm a drummer, so I do take notice of drumming more than the average listener I think. For example, it took me a LONG time to really enjoy the FHTE version of Straight to Hell. My initial listens were met with disgusted reactions. I highly rate Topper's drum part on the record and to hear it dumbed down so much was disappointing to me as it was a big focal point for my listening to that song. Now though, I've learned to tune it out and enjoy Joe's spectacular vocal performance.

So there are certain things that really stick out in a very negative manner to me when I listen to Terry boots. I don't feel like I'm being particularly picky, it's just how my brain processes it. Yeah around here, I take it to another level, but that's just having fun
muppet hi fi wrote:And anyway, Pete Howard was a techy, overly precise modern-esque drummer who was all wrong for the band (at least the tail end of the REAL band). So there.
I'm mixed on Pete. My general feeling is that he was technically great, but musically inferior to Topper. I like how busy he is in Somebody Got Murdered at the US Fest and he definitely approximates the STH part more closely. Stuff like WMHP got a bit too busy, but I always enjoyed hearing different fills on that one (Topper practically played the same fills everytime). So some stuff comes across as somewhat distasteful, but I still prefer Pete to Terry because Pete was at least competent on the non-rock tunes.